Lima COP20 | CMP 10 / About COP20 / Negotiating groups

Negotiating groups


All States can participate in the negotiations of the Conference of the Parties (COP). However, only the Parties (States that have ratified the UNFCCC or the Kyoto Protocol) participate in the decision-making process.

Based on the tradition of the United Nations, The Parties are organized into five regional groups: Africa, Asia, Central and Eastern Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, and Western Europe with other countries (Australia, Canada, USA, Iceland, Norway, New Zealand and Switzerland). However, these five groups, except for the African group, do not operate as negotiating groups and only elect members of the presidency leading the negotiations.

Negotiations under the UNFCCC are organized using the criterion of affinity in specific issues. For example, the
Alliance of Small Island States (AOSIS); power-based coalitions such as the Group of 77 and China (G-77-China); institutional or formal groups such as the European Union, or of political or constructive nature such as the Environmental Integrity Group.

Web pages of interest